Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Answers for discouragement

leave a comment »

Yes, for the last 20 some years I have heard over and over the message that when you are discouraged you need to praise the Lord – and lift him up.  So here goes….

  • A  – Almighty – Only you are the Almighty one, the all powerful, all knowing, all sufficient one who watches over me.
  • B – Beautiful – You are beautiful and your beauty transforms my life.
  • C – Christ – Your title reminds us that Christ is the English term for the Greek Χριστός (Khristós) meaning “the anointed one”
  • D – Defender – You are the defender of the widow and orphan.  Thank you for defending me and watching over me.
  • E – Eternal One – You are alpha and omega, the beginning and the end.  You change not.
  • F – Faithful and True – You are faithful when we are faithless.  Help my faith now Lord
  • G – Good – You are good.  Your nature is to be good, kind and caregiving for those who are called to you.
  • H – Holy – Sinless, and holy.  Holy is set apart, sanctified and pure.  In you is not even a spec of anything that is not pure and honerable.
  • I – Immortal – You live forever
  • J – Just Judge – You are a giver of grace, and keeper of mercy.  You cut through everything to reveal the truth, and you are just. 
  • K – King – Kings rule over their kingdom.  Your kingdom is my heart.  Rule over my heart today.
  • L – Longsuffering – You are restrained, you do not respond quickly but instead you take time, you are not like we are.
  • M – Merciful – you give mercy – give us what we do not deserve.  You lavish us with your grace by withholding harsh judgement
  • N –
  • O- Omnipotent, Omniscient, Omnipresent – thank you that you are everywhere, always, all-knowing, all wise.
  • P – Pater – you are my father who is in heaven.  You are a good father.
  • Q –
  • R – Resurrection and the Life – You conquored sin by the death on the cross and you live, bringing life and healing to us.
  • S – Savior – You have saved me from hell and the grave.
  • T – Teacher – You teach me everything about life and godliness
  • U –
  • V – Venerable – You alone are worthy of our praise
  • W – Worth and Wise – You are the only one who shattered the grip of sin by your death on the cross.  You are very wise.
  • X –
  • Y – Yeshua – My savior who was the promise of the people of israel, and the hope of the gentiles. Thank you for making a way for me as a gentile to be grafted into the vine.
  • Z – Zoe – this is the greek word for life.  Jesus is my life.

You are so much more than this, I praise you Lord for being full of mercy and truth. All knowing and all loving.  I am thankful that yoru thoughts are eternally good toward me.  Help me focus on you.  Amen.

Written by Barbara Bloom

January 2, 2009 at 1:02 PM

Posted in daily life, prayer

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

