Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Questions from the work world

leave a comment »

When I was young it seemed that everyone from my parents on down to teachers drilled into my head how important education is, and how if you work hard, learn alot and do well in school you will be rewarded with a good job, a sizable income and satisfaction that your skils are being used.  I love that concept, embracing it whole heartedly.  Before I graduated high school I was spending time at a college taking a few advanced classes.  And I worked hard, got my bachelors.  And I worked at a full time job and discovered my employer would pay for my masters.  So I worked even harder and completed my masters degree with the belief that my hard work would pay off.  But that belief was not shared by my employer, and in fact, my education has become a detriment to my growth in the company.   And rather than recognizing the “home grown” talent it seems my company prefers to hire from without. 

OK, so I got that off my chest.  It is a weight I don;t want to bear.  But it reminds me of  a story that I just heard.  I don;t know if it is true, but here goes:

The Wisdom of Hot Chocolate

A group of graduates, well established in their careers, were discussing their lives at a class reunion.  They decided to govisit their old university professor, now retired, who was always an inspiration to them.

During their visit, the conversation turned to complaints about stress in their work, lives and relationships.

Offering his guests hot chocolate, the professor went into the kitchen and returned with a large pot of hot chocolate and an assortment of cups.  Some cups were porcelain, glass, crystal and some plain looking, some expensive, some exquisite.  He invited each guest to help themselves to the hot chocolate.

When they all had a cup of hot chocolate in hand the professor shared his thoughts:

“Notice that all the nice looking, expensive cups were taken, leaving behind the plain and cheap ones.  While it is normal for you to want only the best for yourselves, that is the source of your problems and stress.  The cup that you are drinking from adds nothing to the quality of the hot chocolate.  In most cases it is just more expensive and in some cases even hides what we drink.”

“What each of you really wanted was hot chocolate.  You did not want the cup . . . but you consciously went for the best cups. And soon, you began to eye one another’s cups. ”

“Now friends, please consider this. . . Life is the hot chocolate.  Your job, money and position in society are just the cups.   They are just tools to hold and contain life.  The cup you have does not define, nor does it change, the quality of life you are living.  Sometimes by concentrating only on the cup, we fail to enjoy the hot chocolate God has provided us.  ”

“Always remember this. . . God brews the hot chocolate, He does not choose the cup. The happiest people don;t have the best of everything.  They just make the best of everything they have! “

Somewhere in this midlife mind I still want the best of a cup, the most lavish, and extravagent choice for my life…. the power job, the big 6 figure income, my bills all paid… but this little story reminded me that Life is not about all of that.  It is best found in a loving home with a godly spouse, and simple pleasures like knowing that you are loved. 

Prayer – Lord, today would you please search through my mind and my heart and put them right with your word.  Take from me the selfish desires to be what you did not design me to be.  And show me today what your plan is for my life,  For I know that where you send me you will make provisions for me.  And grant me to know peace with accepting this and not straying from the plan to ask for more, different or anything beyond what I should know.  Amen.

Written by Barbara Bloom

February 14, 2009 at 5:41 AM

Posted in growth, Lessons learned

Leave a Reply

