Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Growing lessons with Gideon.

leave a comment »

Recently my husband and I found our new church home.  After 15 years of very tough inner city ministry we believed God was calling us out of there, but for over a year we wandered from church to church, until we found this one.  It is truely a gift of God and a blessing to be a part of a congregation that loves one another, and wants to nurture and fan the flames of faith in each other.  Last sunday there was a guest speaker who opened up Judges 6 in a very powerful way. 

 white as snow

In Judges 6 we meet Gideon, and learn that he is not a strong guy – in fact he is a bit whimpy.  He meets God in a powerful way and is given a work to do… but he is afraid of the townspeople so he tears down the alters and idols of false gods at night.  The news travels fast, and soon the town is banging on his dad’s home. Yes, Gideon still lives at home with his father.  But for the first time in Gideon’s life he witnesses his dad’s willingness to stand behind his boy’s actions by telling the townfolk that if they want to fight Gideon they will have to come through him (dad). 

And even after being visited in powerful ways by God, he still questioned, and still tossed about fearfully, questioning, needing to get confirmations, clarifications. 

Lesson learned was that when we meet God in a fresh way he may call us to uncomfortable tasks, but with faithfulness he demonstrates his grace and shows us a blessing.  Gideon had not known his father’s support or encouragement until that day.  So Gideon witnessed a powerful moving of God in his life, but that was enough supply for that moment – and seeking God needs to be a daily, ongoing passion to pursue him, allow his spirit to lead, fill and guide.

Sad post script – Gideon died having wandered away from his faith, and returned to the idols of the past.

Challenge to me (and you): Set time aside for God daily – fall in love with Jesus, and let his word wash over your mind.  Keep seeking the fresh renewal of God’s spirit daily.

Lord, you know my frame and you are intimately aquainted with the very core of my being.  You knit me together in my mother’s woumb.  You know me full well.  And I know I was made to love you, to shine, to reflect your glory in everything I do.  Help me to always seek you, keep looking for the fresh touch, the fresh wind of your spirit.  I want to finish this life with no regrets, no holding back, but finding freedom in Christ that touches the world.   Amen

I keep returning to an old hymn that keeps feeling like it is the theme of my life:

Prone to wander, Lord I fear it, Prone to leave the God I love.  Here’s my heart now take and seal it, seal it for thy courts above.

Longing for heaven, but living here for Jesus – amen.

Written by Barbara Bloom

May 4, 2009 at 7:07 AM

Leave a Reply

