Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Accepting and Waiting

leave a comment »

Accepting and waiting have been a theme of my life for almost as long as I can remember.  But you need to know that I am like the spoiled child in the toy store – I don;t want to wait, save and plan for a purchase that can be grabbed here and now.  I don;t always see the best interest in waiting for the opportunity to come when I see others accessing the opportunity now.  So pray for me that I would learn to trust and accept the good hand of God for my life and live here in the now honoring him with this life. 

I just spent lunch hour pouring over Philippians 1 and asking God to change my heart.  I wnt to lunch with a heavy heart that was angry because again I bid on a job, and exceeded the qualifications, but never got the interview, and just learned the person who got the job doesn;t even have the minimum education of a bachelors degree.  Yes, this life is evil, and there is really something such as a good old boys club, of which I do not fit, nor can I because I honor Christ and could not lie cheat and steal to get to that job.  I understand that difference, but I am often grieved because I want to believe that there is an honorable and noble honesty in society which does not exist. 

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change what I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.  I need you now Lord to clear my fog of dispare, and give me just a glimpse of the hope that awaits me in heaven.  Lord, Help me to accept that the dreams I have must continually be surrendered to you and you alone.   So Take my life lord and let it be concecrated only to thee.  And take from me the wrestling, the frustration, and the despaire that I feel when I see yet another person succeed in advancing while I sit on the sidelines, waiting for your hand.  And I will trust in your character, knowing you are good.  Amen”

Written by Barbara Bloom

May 12, 2009 at 10:40 AM

Leave a Reply

