Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Inspired to Follow God

with 2 comments

You have not seen much of me posting for some time, probably because life has been busy, and everything else has crowded in.  It is also because I have hit a slump in my life, faith and writing. 

In april and may my posts were good, and solid, and encouraging, but then the big silence.  It has been weeks since I sat down with my bible and spent real and needed time with God.  I have been so tired that it was far easier to just vegitate in front of the TV.  So if you are out there reading this blog can you please pray for me that God will renew my passion for him, for his word, and for his church. 

Yes, I think it is a sense of depression – the finances have been squeeky tight, and the job has been frustrating.  Bids for other positions have closed off to me, and I am not sure I am over the traumatic and sudden death of my dog before easter.  So pray.  Lift up prayers for God to ignite my passion for him, and to turn my gaze from these depressing things to his glory, his plan and his word.

I hear the scripture clicking off in my head “whatever is good, lovely, kind, wholesome… think on these things.” 

So Lord, I pray for myself that you would flood me with the new spark of your spirit, and draw me back to your side where I can hide in the shadow of your protective wings and grow strong.  Keep, i ask, the enemy from me, and give me the tools to stand in your armour.  Amen

Written by Barbara Bloom

July 24, 2009 at 1:00 PM

Posted in daily life, Depression

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My brother, I just want to encourage you to stand strong. God has placed you here in this medium. It was only 2 years ago that I began, and I credit my writing and willingness to write with strengthening my faith. I want you to know that I need for you to write as I will be sending traffic here by putting you on my Blogroll. I will be praying for you. Take Care Love Elaine

    peacefulone

    September 30, 2009 at 4:11 PM

  2. Peace and blessings to you. With the help of the Lord I will continue to write. and I will be looking for your updates as well.

    mephibashef

    October 1, 2009 at 7:08 AM


Leave a Reply

