Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Honoring God with the best

leave a comment »

I am not sure why I veered off my normal daily reading plan, but over the weekend I found myself reading the book of Malachi.  I seldom read that book, but when i do I am so fiercly convicted about my life and my walk with the Lord. 

A son honors his father, and a servant his master. If I am a father, where is the honor due me? If I am a master, where is the respect due me?” says the Lord Almighty. “It is you, O priests, who show contempt for my name. But you ask, ‘How have we shown contempt for your name? You place defiled food on my altar. “But you ask, ‘How have we defiled you?’ “By saying that the Lord’s table is contemptible. When you bring blind animals for sacrifice, is that not wrong? When you sacrifice crippled or diseased animals, is that not wrong? Try offering them to your governor! Would he be pleased with you? Would he accept you?” says the Lord Almighty  – malachi 1:6-8

So Chapter 1:6-8 challenged me to consider what I am giving to God – with my time I must confess it is the last moments of my evening, and a sleepy semiconsciousness of early morning, sandwiched between snoozing.  I am not bringing my whole being to him, nor am I offering him my best. 

So I have pondered the picture of an alter with a huge fire blazing, the sound of goats and sheep bleeting, and the smell of animals being put to death for the sacrifice.  What a visual sensory image of the horror sin has brought to us – requiring the killing of animals to atone for sin.  It had to smell with such a mixture of smells – fire, hot blood, animal dander, incense,and possibly animal excriment.  And the sounds of people working busily to butcher animals, and to offer the sacrifices on the fire, and those tending the animals, and those tending the people, and the people praying , and the sound of the priests praying. …. a very overwhelming set of sights and sounds.

Written by Barbara Bloom

September 24, 2009 at 10:56 AM

Leave a Reply

