Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Breaking free of bondage

with one comment

Bondage – slavery – indenture- harsh words that speak of owing what you cannot repay, and unable to escape the situation you are in.

Our church has begun a series on breaking free from what holds us hostage, and so the thought of bondage has been on my heart.

Actually I must admit our financial melt down has been a very constant reminder of how easy sin takes us to bondage, and how bondage saps the joy from our lives. We are still working our way through our finances, working second jobs, struggling to pay the bills, and seeking God with everything that is in us.

The lord has shown me that clearly apart from him I am helpless and hopeless, and I can do nothing. Dependent upon his mercy and grace I am learning to trust Him in a whole new way. Trusting him for the finances to pay our bills, and for the health to work, and for the actual job itself. In our times of great uncertainty I have learned that my gaze must always be toward Jesus.

As we worked through Matthew 6:26-34

Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?
Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?
And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:
And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.
Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, [shall he] not much more [clothe] you, O ye of little faith?
Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?
(For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.
But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.
Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day [is] the evil thereof.

So the question in my soul is this – Why would I doubt the capability of my God to supply my need. Why would I be so pig headed to run ahead and spend and charge and buy and do… without the safety of the resources to pay for it when God will supply my need.

I look at my coworkers who are often stylish, with the latest this and the spashiest that… and here I am with the same basic clothing… nothing fancy, nothing trendy, and no desire to sink into debt to compete with them. I fired up a quick prayer to ask for God to settle my heart and turn my eyes to him, not to what I am lacking. And I layed down the desire to focus on what I am not or what i do not have. Later that evening I was working my night job and a coworker came in with a small bag of clothing… all for me. She was visiting a used clothing store where she found amazing deals for dirt cheap. Amazing, miraculous, and the clothing fit me perfectly.

“So, consider the lillies of the field… they don;t do anything to bring out their beauty, but the Lord, the creator, clothes them in colors and garments that are vivid and bright. ”

Thank you lord for those tangible moments when you turn our hearts to trust you, and wait. Thank you that you fill our hearts with peace, and a sense of acceptace, contentment. For it is in those moments we are yielded and ready to see your good hand at work. Amen

Written by Barbara Bloom

September 29, 2009 at 2:03 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

    Savannah

    October 17, 2009 at 5:16 AM


Leave a Reply

