Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

What are you building on?

leave a comment »

Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock: And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock.

— Matthew 7:24-25

My email inbox oepend this morning to reveal the verse of the day…. and what a good verse this is. The only picture in my mind I have is of a famous series of photos taken at an east coast lighthouse. The lighthouse stands stately against a rocky coast when suddenly the high tide catches a huge wave crashing against the structure…. and the wave receeds. The winner is the lighthouse, still standing strong, because it was built well, and built to withstand those storm surges that will occur in a coastal area.

I just love how visual Jesus is. When he was teaching he always looked around at his enviornment and drew lessons from normal life. So he looked at a beach, and then up the hillside to the rocks… it was not a hard leap of faith for those listening to his teaching. They had walked on wet sandy beaches, and knew what it was like to feel sand sink into their toes and leave a trail of footprints that would wash away with the next lap of the waves upon the sand. And perhaps many of them knew the fury of storms brewing up on the water.

At the heart of the matter is keeping the teachings of Jesus as the foundation and focus of all we do. In my life when I have done this I can say that the storms of life like loved ones becoming sick or dying, job loss, financial issues, have been there but I have know I have Jesus to hold on to. The storm will batter me, but I remain standing, because the foundation is Jesus.

Lord I have been guilty of not always choosing the best when building any part of my life. I acnowlege this as sin, and repent from excluding you in my life. I ask you to be a part of every step,and every thing that I do, say or plan. May you be the rock and sure foundation for my life so that all can see your faithfulness in my life. AMEN

Written by Barbara Bloom

November 5, 2009 at 1:53 PM

Leave a Reply

