Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Resolutions for a new year (and a new decade).

with one comment

Resolutions are something i strive to think long and hard about, because I want them to succeed. But as we all know, most resolutions just don;t work out well. Here is my feeble attempt at the 2010 edition of my resolutions:

1. I will spend at least 30 minutes a day in the word, and have the goal of reading through the bible at least once this year. Ideally i would like to try to do this x2. I want to just fall more deeply in love with Jesus this year!

2. I will stop, take a deep breath, and remember the grace that the Lord has bestowed on my life first before reacting to anything or anyone with anger and resentment especially my husband.

3. I will plant a garden this year, and take care of it to maximize our food surplus. With out budget way out of line I want to have a successful harvest of crops to suppliment my grocery allowance.

4. I will strive to take my lunches, whether a sandwich, salad or can of soup daily, thus cutting down on living expenses (and eating more healthy!)

5. I will get disciplined in e very aspect of my life – Organize my time, my meals, my home, my life. And I will be diligent to seek out discipline with everything.

6. I will attempt to write on this blog at least 1-2 times per week, and work actively on my writing skills. This ties to the discipline resolution.

7. I want to read at least 6 books this year, and relish the reading. I have not been reading this past year, and miss it desperately,

8. I will try to put more exercise in my life, whether going for walks or joining a water aerobics class…. got to do something.

9. I will take seriously any training offered for my career and pour on the effort to “get er done” and enhance my professional expertise.

10. Learn to love myself a bit more, take better care of myself – eating better, sleeping better, loving others, not holding onto anything that could be a wedge in my life, and trusting the Lord more and more each day.

Bonus – I will work at becoming financially solvent again!

Do you make New Year Resolutions?
(polls)

Written by Barbara Bloom

January 1, 2010 at 12:00 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Somebody dropped a link to your blog on Twitter and that is where I first found your site. I like the way you write and I am going to subscribe to read more whenever I can. Oh yeah, are you on Twitter yet?

    Ermelinda Tadman

    January 31, 2010 at 4:14 AM


Leave a Reply

