Thorns among the Barbs

Thoughts on my journey to heaven

Things are not as they appear

leave a comment »

How many times have we looked at a friend who smiled, was cordial, and warm, loving, and yet their heart was breaking apart?  How many times have we looked at a totally devistating situation and only seen the devistation, and not the opportunity to rebuild.  things are not as they always seem. 

i am telling myself this today because it is the sunniest day outside, with a gentle breeze blowing into the windows, and yet my heart wants to ruminate on loss and grief, of the struggles, and not the god who is making the sun shine.

I want so badly to just change the channel on this life i am living because the story is hard, and the struggle is real… but then i hear him say that the testing of my faith works patience and let patience complete her perfect work.  OK, you got me.  You look down and know what rough edges need to be sanded down, and what needs to be polished, or what surgery needs to happen to refashion me in your image.  I dont want to be the clay telling the potter what to do.  I yield all to you God.  Make my life new, precious, and in the image of your son.  You have taken so much from me, yet i will praise you because i realize what i clinged to was not necessary.  So things are not as they appear.  You know why the doors remain closed, and work is not happening, and you know why we are down to the dregs of savings and living on the fumes… but you know the best plan for us.  Yielded i cry out please dont leave me this way.  Give me dignity, purpose, life.  Give me the ability to pay my bills, and have daily bread. (and gas!)

Written by Barbara Bloom

May 30, 2012 at 10:14 AM

Leave a Reply

